Website Yearbook

Now, before you all judge me on the title (and by all means, feel free; won’t hurt me any), let me explain. As I said in my first post, this blog will be used for a multitude of different things. Like, three. So yeah..That’s a multitude, right? Well, this post is one of those pertaining to my college course. You know, the reason I had to finally get off my fanny and make this blog. This particular post utilizes the Internet Wayback Machine. Its purpose: to compare and contrast different websites and how they’ve changed over the years. Title make sense yet?

I thought for a while about which websites to use. I wanted to think of some that many people use, oftentimes daily. What better choices than Yahoo and Google! They’ve been around for a while, so they’re perfect candidates.

Let’s start with good ol’ Google. First up is a snapshot from 1998.Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 6.13.56 PM

Look at how young Google is! A baby, really. Now, Google has never had a super complex design. Just their logo and a search bar. After all, that’s what it’s for. This logo feels super blocky and heavy to me. Anyone else? I’ve never seen this logo, as I was much too young to be on the Internet in 1998 (I was only 5!). I’m sure someone will see this and be flooded with memories of the beginning. Of the first steps of Google!

Now, here is a logo I can remember. Oh 2007. I don’t want to remember you.

.Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 6.14.43 PM

This logo is pretty similar to the 1998 one, however, the font is much slimmer. Same font type and colors, and there’s still a hint of a drop shadow. The area around the search bar seems cleaned up as well. “But, Rinii,” I hear you say, “surely there isn’t anything else to say about Google.” Well, my friends, let me stop you there. I’VE ONLY JUST BEGUN!

Fast-forward to: present day Google.Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 6.15.50 PM

Gone are the serifs! Gone is the drop shadow and any other forms of lighting/shadows on the letters! They’re dead, Jim. Poof. Instead, we’re left with a simplistic sans serif font and flat colors. The entire thing gives off a more modern, sleek vibe. And real talk? I’m kind of digging it. Typically I steer clear of modern things. Like wires hanging from a  ceiling pretending to be art. But I won’t get into that. Everyone has their own tastes and visions, etc.

It’s kind of crazy, in all honesty, to see how much Google has changed over the last 18 years. And its main page is literally just a logo and search bar. But, you guys ready to see a website with a lot of stuff happening? I mean, I can’t surprise you, unless you literally skipped all the way here. Then, like, welcome, I guess. You’re probably horribly confused. Read the beginning. I’ll wait….Done? Good. To Yahoo!

Oh sweet 1996 Yahoo..what were you doing?Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 6.09.48 PM

There’s not a lot going on here design-wise. Everything seems to be floating around the logo. After that, it’s just a long list of links. I should ask my mom is she remembers this version of Yahoo.. It serves it’s purpose of search engine here, at least. The search bar is pretty easily seen, and you can click the links to learn more about a specific topic. I don’t even see Yahoo!Mail on here…

There’s the Yahoo!Mail I know and remember! I use “remember” loosely because this was 2006 and I’m pretty sure I didn’t even have an email address yet.

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 6.10.47 PM

Now we’ve got a search bar, links, and email all conveniently wrapped up in one simple package. This home page is a little more interesting. I’m liking the fact that all the extra imagery around the logo is gone. It seems much less…Jumbled. It’s getting there, but still feels lacking.

And suddenly it’s like an explosion of stuff. ‘Cuz, you know, 2016.Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 6.12.01 PM

This version of the Yahoo homepage is probably the most familiar to many people. This is the only Yahoo I remember, to be honest. I like this one because there’s a lot there, but to me, it doesn’t feel cluttered. It’s just so much more visually interesting. By now, yahoo is more than just a search engine and a place to collect emails. As seen in this snapshot, there’s news stories and recipes and weather, as well as a side-bar to the left just full of different stuff. If I actually cared and read this stuff, I’d be set for who knows how long. Also, if I can draw your attention to this gem:Shark-Girl

I’m liking the shark girl. I may have inwardly cackled for a lot longer than I should have. Realistically, this probably isn’t cackle worthy, but I found it hilarious.

Ok, but back to the point of this post. Websites are constantly going through changes, both in design and functionality. And they have to in order to keep up with our rapidly changing lives. I’m super curious to know that these websites will look in another 5 or 10 years. Will this blog still be active by then? The dreamer in me says, “Duh, Rinii! Obviously! You got this girl!” The realist is a lot less positive. I won’t type what she said. It’s not appropriate to younger audiences. Man, now it sounds like I talk to myself. I mean, I do, but…Where was I going with this?

This has gone on long enough. I need to end this post before it spirals any further out of control, if that’s even possible. Until I return, stay positive, listen to some good music, and totally jam out.

Leave a Reply

