Second Post, Same as the First!

Okay, well, not entirely the same. I’m sure I’ll just start rambling and complaining at some point in here, so it’ll be pretty close. Then again, I’m also feeling pretty feisty today. I’m usually funnier when I’m feisty. Usually.

If you read my previous post, you’ll remember how I was talking about that job interview I had had. Well, since they hadn’t contacted me yet (I have a friend who had worked there and he said it took a week for them to contact him- so I waited a week), I decided to get a hold of them. Look at me, being a responsible adult! I contact the lady who had interviewed me and explained that I’d had an interview last Thursday and hadn’t heard back, and that I’d need an answer soon so I know if I need to look elsewhere for employment or not. Her response: “I’m sorry! We have filled the positions, but it was nice to meet you”. …Now, I wanted to say, “Then why the fuck didn’t you do what you said you would and call me with the yes or no? That’s really unprofessional, and now I’ve lost an entire week’s worth of job searching. Thanks to you, I probably won’t be able to pay my electric bill due next Friday. Hell, I’ll be lucky if I can pay rent in September!” Instead, I thanked her for telling me and apologized for bothering her. Who says I don’t have a filter?

On the subject of people and jobs, I’ve also been screwed out of art jobs. I’ve had some people pretty interested in having me paint canvases and wall murals for them, but when it comes time for me to meet with them and actually start working, they just stop contacting me. And like, I’m not charging all that much, when you think about it. $45 for a painted canvas that’s like 8″x 24″, which includes price of material and work time, and then like $150 for a wall mural that’s like 8′ x 12′ and takes me 16+ hours to complete..That’s really not that bad. Considering paintings of the same size are being sold for like $130 on the Internet. But who am I to complain? I’ve also had commissions open for over a year, with the sheet constantly being updated to show how I’ve grown as an artist, but that’s not going anywhere either.

I guess my whole point of this post is that life really isn’t fair. I’ve always known that, obviously, but apparently Life really likes to fuck with some people. I have it so easy compared to so many others out there too, so Life needs to get with the fuckin’ program and chill out. Like damn son.

Leave a Reply

