Officially an Adult?

So, I graduated college Saturday and a friend of mine said I was a real adult now, and that got me thinking. I’ve been in school since I was like 5, and I’ll be 24 in a little over two months. I don’t think I know what to do without school.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m crazy excited about this, and this is a huge accomplishment. But this is a whole new world. When I graduated high school, I already knew what I was doing next. I had my college picked out and had a basic idea of what I wanted to major in. But now I feel like I’ve been thrown into a crazy whirlwind of emotions. I know where I’ll be living and who I’ll be living with, but I have no idea what I’ll be doing for a job. And that’s what scares me. I’ve applied and looked, sure,  but that’s rarely enough. Nothing is going to fall into my lap, and I’m worried that I won’t be able to find a job fast enough, and then I won’t be able to pay rent. I can make a little doing odd jobs, but I’d rather not have to work at a McDonald’s again.

I suppose my biggest fear is being a failure. Everyone assumes the second you get that degree that you’ll start working and make a lot of money, and if you don’t then you’re just not trying hard enough. But sometimes a person can try their hardest and the cards just aren’t stacked in their favor. And that’s ok (That’s both for someone else’s benefit as well as my own. I’m fucking terrified my dudes). So, try not to worry, Reader and me. We got this.

This got real. I was just gonna tell some happy stories to get back into the swing of things, but I’ve been thinking too much. So here’s another picture of my dog.

Leave a Reply

